Tired and itchy

Yesterday I was on a field trip with a busload of quilters.  We left Charleston, SC at 7 AM and toodled up the road to Gastonia, NC and a thread outlet and then a place we call fabric heaven – Mary Jo’s Fabric Store.  We shopped till we dropped.  It was nice to be in the company of likeminded gals and very nice to be chauffered up the road in a big bus with “indoor facilities.”

On the way home I noticed the right side of my neck was itchy and uncomfortable.  I had taken my blue neck pillow with me and thought maybe it was that.  But by the time I got home I was thinking it had to be something else.  I had to get up in middle of night and take benedryl and pain meds – by then the neck was bright bright red and had big swollen lumps and was very very itchy.  This morning as I ate some toast and tea and pondered what could have triggered this reaction my eyes fell on my little flamingo bag that I had worn around my neck on the right side and under my left arm in lieu of a big shoulder bag – just my driver’s license, money, insurance cards, keys, and phone.  It has a cord for the strap and I’m now sure it was the cord rubbing on my neck all day plus the weight – it wasn’t heavy but that had to have caused the cord to dig into my neck – that set off the reaction.  My skin has been out of whack all spring – mostly hives in any area where clothing could rub or press on my body.  This happened one other time in the spring of 1988. 

 So I have spent the day drugged up with benedryl and with an ice pack on my neck.  It has gotten a bit better and hopefully by tomorrow I’ll be able to give up the benedryl and join the world of the “awake” again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    May 15, 2007 @ 19:34:57

    Oh man KK that stinks. I guess you’ll have to give your flamingo purse to another flamingo lover…me!
    Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Reply

  2. Maureen
    May 16, 2007 @ 10:14:14

    Hey Gal, Sorry you have been under the weather. We missed you at Morning Ducks. I really had to drag myself there. We had a small group and ended up at Jason’s for lunch and then to Books a Million for the new Sampler magazine.
    Feel better!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

