Studio or Sweatshop??

Yesterday my beautiful new studio became a beehive of activity for eight hours.  Four of the Princess Posse came here and we all worked like our lives depended on it on organizing, packaging, pricing, and packing into boxes all of the donated items for our guild’s silent auction in July.  This is our Ways and Means committee big fund-raiser for the year.  I was Ways and Means chairperson for two years before moving to VP and now Pres of the guild.  I’ve continued to help with the Silent Auction and volunteered my studio space as there is still a large open area where my longarm will be going.

The last hour and a half we were all so tired but kept pushing on so we wouldn’t have to do this another day.  I won’t be driving my van for anything until after the guild meeting in July as it is packed to the roof with auction items.  This means no Princess Posse field trips in the van!!

Corky found the mug that says “Goddess……formerly Princess” and brought it to me as a studio-warming gift.  But she wouldn’t tell me where she had found the mugs locally.  She’s never going to get off of “probation” with that attitude!!

I’m stiff and sore today but hopefully a soak in the hot tub and a walk with my four-legged walking buddy, Rascal, will work out the kinks.

I’m off to the library this afternoon as soon as it opens – need to get some more audiobooks and turn in the ones I’ve finished.  This past library trip I decided to skip my usual fare of mystery/courtroom drama type novels and branch out a bit.  I listened to If You Could See Me Nowby Cecilia Ahern; River, Cross my Heart by Breena Clark; Our Lady of the Forest by David Guterson (Snow Falling on Cedars); and The Life All Aound Me by Ellen Foster, written by Kaye Gibbons (you really need to read Ellen Foster before this one). 

It has gotten chilly here – I have the heat set to come on if it gets below 70degrees in the house and it came on this morning!  It was to get into the 40s last night – very unusual for the middle of May in the lowcountry of SC.  I am not complaining – it will be too hot and too humid soon I’m sure.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. serendipityquilting
    May 20, 2007 @ 09:16:00

    You have a Princess Posse?? Complete with Princess Posse van??!! How fun is that??!!! I am definitely under achieving these days…. The new studio sounds wonderful!! Get some rest!!! I’m tired just reading that! 🙂

    Reply

  2. quiltingwithkaren
    May 20, 2007 @ 13:37:00

    I don’t think you are underachieving – you are raising the cutest child on earth!! What could be more satisfying than that? Remember – I’m retired, no children or grandchildren (well, that might be changing – we’ll just let that little tidbit simmer a bit!!) and a DH who is very self-sufficient. I love to organize things and “be in charge.” So I’m a Princess (the good kind that understands the duties and responsibilities that come with being royalty) and yes, I have a Posse. They are the best!

    We’ve walked, worked on the pool, and fixed a quick lunch. Next stop – the library – I need my audiobook fix – can’t quilt without them.

    Reply

  3. Corky
    May 20, 2007 @ 17:10:08

    Okay, I’ll confess…I got the mug on Amazon. I googled ‘goddess coffee mug’ and it popped up. I can’t think of a better studio warming gift – except for maybe something flamingoish.

    Reply

  4. serendipityquilting
    May 20, 2007 @ 18:01:10

    🙂 You are obviously a kind, wise and generous princess!! What fun!!!! 🙂 And thanks! 🙂 Happy Quilting!!

    Reply

  5. quiltingwithkaren
    May 20, 2007 @ 21:27:14

    Thanks, Corky for the info! I might want some more of them – not necessarily another Goddess one but I really liked all of them – but would rather not drive to Beaufort again. OK – you are off probation again.

    Reply

  6. Gina
    Jun 16, 2007 @ 12:28:45

    An inspiring woman! U go girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

