Ahhh choooo!!

Sheez!  I thought allergy season was over here.  I did a lot of sneezing yesterday and today I’m all stopped up and my eyes are watering.  Back to the sudafed and claritin.

Janice and I had a great time in the studio yesterday.  She stayed until almost 5 PM!!  In the morning we worked on a special project for our guild show silent auction – a cute Duck quilt.  We got all the applique blocks done and the sashing sewn and the 9-patch cornerstones made and the border and border cornerstones cut.  No pics as I left my camera at the house and forgot it again when we came here for lunch.  In the afternoon Janice finished fusing her second Birds of a Feather block (Junco) while I finished the blanket-stitching on my two blocks.  Then we worked on selecting and cutting our background fabrics for the remainder of the blocks.

In the evening I returned to the studio for a bit and sewed the rows together for my black/white/red Between Friends quilt top. 

I keep debating on whether to move my computer and all related paraphenalia to the studio.  One day it’s yes, the next day it’s no.  I would have to have DSL installed there, too so I’m looking at additional expense.  Then the computer hardware would become part of the business and I would have to pay taxes on it.  So I’m probably not going to move it – will just have to make sure I’m carrying the camera to the studio every day I go there to work. (or play!) 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. serendipityquilting
    May 30, 2007 @ 07:17:04

    laptop and wireless router my friend 😉 I’m sitting in the backyard watching the bunnies, drinking coffee and reading blogs. Just something to consider.

    Reply

  2. quiltingwithkaren
    May 30, 2007 @ 14:07:13

    How far will it work? I’ve thought about it. We’ve got a wireless router for the two computers in the house. And I’ve been wanting a laptop for when I travel. The studio is not right next door to the house – it’s on the back of the property. If I were in town or even some of the subdivisions around here there could be at least one and maybe even three houses between my house and the studio.

    Reply

  3. serendipityquilting
    May 30, 2007 @ 15:15:10

    I am sure there are variables in there that I am not qualified to answer. But, I can tell you that people in my neighborhood that have not secured their routers, I can see them and pick up a clear & strong signal to at least 10 other routers…. and we all have 1/2 acre to 3/4 acre lots…. if that tells you anything…. but … I am not an expert and I would think things like trees etc would change the dynamics. The other option might be a card reader or a second camera for the studio that you could carry the card back and forth?? or usb stick back and forth for downloading pics?? I like hauling my laptop around… and if the power goes out, I like the ability to haul it into town to check business email at one of the local cafes. HTH!!

    Reply

  4. carlafibers
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 01:31:30

    Hi Karen, you do not need to go to the added expense of getting a DSL line if you consider the WiFi route.

    In my house, we have our main server desktop where the DSL line comes in. Every other computer in the house (4 laptops and one more desktop) gains internet access wirelessly. Yes, it is secure so no neighbors can use our internet connection.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  5. quiltingwithkaren
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 06:41:16

    Thanks, Carla – for the info and for visiting my blog! I am so enjoying yours – the travels, the cartoons, the fiber arts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

