To P or not to P

I got up this morning around 5: 30 for a “potty run” and heard a pingy noise – upon investigation found DH at his computer.  What in the world?  He had been up since 3 AM with pain and running to bathroom.  Oh…………do you have a virus.  No – back pain and feeling of having to urinate – lots of pressure.  Uh oh.  We have done the kidney stone thing before.  I quickly got my bath and got dressed in anticipation of a run to the ER.  Sure enough, by 8 AM we were on the road.  Luckily it was not a busy morning at the hospital and he was immediately taken “in.”  When I checked on him he was grinning so I figured they had already started the happy juice.  No…………..but he was feeling better.  They did a scan and could see the stone – it had moved to his bladder and was only 3 mm.  So at 11:30 we were on our way home with a prescription for Percocet if he needs it and orders to push fluids.  So far very little pain so it must have decided to stay in the bladder for awhile.

Meanwhile – I had planned to spend the morning finishing up a quilt for a customer/friend.  It’s an “initial” quilt – and the initial on this quilt was a P!!  Pretty fitting for my day, I think.  I was able to finish it up this afternoon and evening – here are some quick pictures while it was still on the frame. 

000_0002-001-6.jpg000_0003-002-5.jpg000_0005-004-5.jpg

000_0007-006-3.jpg

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. serendipityquilting
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 23:46:27

    Oh Karen, that’s no way to start the weekend! I hope he feels better fast!! I bet every time you see that quilt going forward you’ll think P is for Percocet!! I was wondering why no TT or DWW reports had been posted. You’ve been busy!! Great work!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Corky
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 15:43:31

    Oh man, I’m sorry to hear he’s feeling down. I hope everything comes out alright! Let me know if you need anything.

    Love the P quilt!

    Reply

  3. Maureen
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 16:16:37

    Sorry about Delma, hope he is feeling better soon.
    I took Saradean’s class this morning really enjoyed myself. What a difference after M. H. I came home and worked on what I learned for about an hour.
    The quilt looks great Joanne should be very pleased.
    Hope the rest of the weekend goes better than the way it started.
    Maureen

    Reply

  4. carlafibers
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 17:22:36

    Ohhhh, your poor husband! I once had to take mine to the ER for a kidney stone. He was so sick!

    Anyhow, I’m glad it wasn’t worse! Hope he recovers quickly!

    Reply

  5. serendipityquilting
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 10:28:25

    Hope DH is completely recovered by now! And now that I realize the real meaning behind the letters 😀 What a cool family heirloom!! I have not seen that kit around here! Cool!

    Reply

  6. quiltingwithkaren
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 12:11:58

    He umpired baseball games in the hot hot sun all day yesterday and not a twinge. He’s doing the same today. So it is either sitting in the bladder waiting or he’s passed it and didn’t even know it.

    Yes, the initial quilts do make nice family heirlooms. Maybe I’ll even do one someday.

    Reply

  7. serendipityquilting
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 15:16:06

    Glad to hear he is feeling better! And what?! You aren’t just going to make one of those beautiful quilts before vacation?! slacker… 😉

    Reply

  8. quiltingwithkaren
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 16:39:08

    I have an oriental BQ quilt I need to do before vacation – the owner has been patiently (?) waiting for me to get to it. I know she wants to put it in our next show so I’ve been studying and planning – need to go practice making ginkgo leaves. It’s pretty big so I’ll probably be at it most of the week. But I do have a TTT and a DWW planned for this week with various members of the PP (Princess Posse).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

