Fallen Hero Memorial Quilt

fireman-memorial-quilt.jpgYesterday at my “splinter group” meeting of the Ducks we worked on making memorial quilts for the Charleston Nine.  A few weeks ago the city of Charleston lost nine firefighters in a furniture store blaze.  The tragedy has shocked and touched all of us.  My guild immediately began planning to make memorial quilts for the families of the fallen heros.  One of the other splinter groups found this pattern called Star Weaver from Quiltmaker magazine.  We called for volunteers at the guild meeting last Thursday.  We were overrun with people wanting to help.

 My group thought we might make two.  Yesterday we completed three tops and two more only need the borders!  We had seventen at our meeting and you should have seen the rotary cutters slicing, the irons pressing, the needles going up and down stitching away.  It was absolutely amazing and so very heartwarming.

I am sure we will have enough quilts to give more than one to each family and maybe one to each fire station that lost a firefighter.  I have three of them here to quilt – I’ll share pictures of that when I get them finished. 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 22:14:36

    Very nice!! But I have to say, 17 rotary cutters flying sounds very scary!! Sounds like you all were very busy.

    Reply

  2. KK
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 06:21:33

    OK – not that many rotary cutters – we have a system where we have sewers and cutters and pressers and runners and, of course, organizers (usually ME!! LOL). It works really well – I think I could have run a sweatshop in my younger years!!

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 07:08:48

    Karen, I’m not so sure you don’t run a sweat shop now! Oh I’m ducking and running!!!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 07:49:01

    I’ve been accused!! Just call me Kathy Lee…groan

    Reply

  5. Corky
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 16:20:02

    Oh, let me tell you, I was there and we were sweating for sure! Of course the 95 degrees with 95% humidity probably contributed!

    I’m glad you posted a photo KK because I didn’t really see the “weaving” while we were working on them!

    May I copy your photo for my blog?

    Reply

  6. KK
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 16:54:13

    Yes, Corky – you may copy the pic – after all – you helped make the quilt top!

    Reply

  7. carolina quilter in Texas
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 17:41:20

    KK…the quilt is beautiful. I wish I was there to help. I guess you knew that one of the fireman was a former student, and his mother worked with me for many years. The Ducks are doing great things. I miss you all…..Just one K

    Reply

  8. KK
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 12:59:34

    One K – we miss you too! I check your blog at least every other day but not much doing over there. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

