Garden Bounty

000_0004-002.jpg000_0003-001.jpgAfter a couple of years with garden disasters – especially the tomatoes and peppers – this year we are having a bumper crop.  I’ve already made sauce with peppers and onions and also diced tomatoes (all for the freezer – I used to can but that is too time consuming – I need time to QUILT!).  I’ve made one batch of stuffed green peppers – a few went in the freezer after I had a little dinner party with Nancy and Virginia.  I will continue to make batches of stuffed peppers and also will chop/slice peppers to freeze for cooking with later.  We just enjoy the squash fresh – I do not like it frozen or canned. 

 Fresh veggies from the garden are so pretty and colorful.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 13:37:49

    So do you have to do anything to the tomatoes or just dice them and freeze them? The bunnies are leaving me a few here and there 😉

    Reply

  2. KK
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 15:32:30

    I drop them in boiling water for about 1 minute and then in ice water for about 2 minutes. That allows you to just slip the skin off – then I core them and dice them – put in freezer containers or bags – and into the freezer.

    Bad bunnies! We have a couple that hop around the garden but they have so much to eat they haven’t bothered the tomatos.

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Jul 22, 2007 @ 09:02:23

    Wow, your garden is doing much better than mine is this year. My tomatoes are giving us a few here and there, but no big bounty. Yours are so pretty!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Jul 22, 2007 @ 10:48:18

    I picked another basketful this morning. Many are small – I think DH went a bit overboard on the Early Girls but he says no. They are not going to last much longer. Some of the plants are looking pretty sad.

    Remember – I’m in SC near the coast – we plant early – and by August our gardens are just a big buggy weedy mess!! But the paper had the fall planting schedule printed this morning – I may see if DH wants to till up and plant again in August. hmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

