It’s BEACH time!

Five years ago my guild, Cobblestone Quilters Guild, held their first beach retreat.  It has since become an annual event and tomorrow is the day!  We hold it at St. Christopher’s Camp and Conference Center on Seabrook Island just south of Charleston.  This year we have 50+ members attending.  It is BYOP with lots of sewing/quilting, lots of games and cutting up, and lots of FOOD!  We started having themes a couple of years ago – when I was in charge in 2005 we did Kick Off your Flip Flops and Quilt the Night Away – with a flip flop decorating contest. Many of the door prizes were flip flop related and we made tote bags for everyone with flip flops and palm trees appliqued on the outside and lined with flip flap fabrics.   Last year my theme was Pajama Party at the Beach.  We had a PJ fashion show one night and I gave out a special award to those brave enough to wear their PJs for the entire weekend.  We also watched the video of Pillow Talk with Doris Day and Rock Hudson.  We made pillowcases (travel size) for the goodie bags and gave out travel pillows as one of the “goodies.”

This year I’m not in charge (needed a break but it was sure fun planning the retreats) and the theme is Back to the Sixties!  This should be fun. 

The only downer is we’ve been under an extreme heat advisory for the past few days and it is going to be hot tomorrow, too.  So getting everything moved into the sewing room is going to be miserable.  Hopefully the sea breezes will cool us off and the weather man is promising the heat will moderate by Saturday.

 Pics and full report when I get back on Monday.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 09:25:37

    Hmmm that means the prince, the trailer and all that fabric is not in use. Party at Karen’s studio this weekend. 😉

    Reply

  2. carolina quilter in Texas
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 09:49:18

    I still use my flip-flop tote bag, and it always reminds me of the great time we have at the beach retreat. I also wear my t-shirts alot. So much so that my mom asked, just the other day how many of them I had. (Only 2). I know you guys will have a great time, even with the hot weather.

    I am off today to purchase my Bernina 440 QE. Can’t wait to try the stitch regulator and be able to quilt my own quilts. (Thankfully, I don’t make bed sized quilts.)

    I will be thinking about you all at the beach…loking forward to a report on Monday. Tell everyone “hi” for this misplaced Duck in Texas.

    Reply

  3. Jolene
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 21:43:52

    We had a great time!…….But the weather was tooooooo hot!…..I got back home Monday to a very nice temp of 68……..oh yeah! Carolina Quilter in Texas (Kerry)…. you would love the shirt from this year……..tyedyed bright yellow & orange with blue letters!…Check out Corkys blog for pics….and the cute “boys” that took pics for us! I had a great time, and it was almost like the old “sweatshop” time with KK.

    Reply

  4. carolina quilter in Texas
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 13:57:24

    I do love the shirts…thanks Jolene for letting me know about them. I guess that would really cause my Mom to make a comment. I thought about ya’ll all weekend, and HAD to console myself learning to use my new Bernina. Berni and I had a great time. Looking forward to more pictures….KK where are you?

    Reply

  5. KK
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 19:28:33

    I don’t have pics – Corky does! I didn’t take my camera. Corky has all the pics and I’m sure there are some on there I wish were deleted – but ………….

    Hopefully she will send me some for my blog.

    The next blog post will be titled…….are you ready???……..Even the Princess Toots! I’m fighting a bad headache right now and this post needs to be written when I’m at my best so I can depict myself when I’m at my worst. Does that make sense?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

