Even the Princess “toots!”

pissy_duck1.jpgGreetings from your Flamingo Princess!  Here I am in my headdress celebrating my capture of the Pissy Duck title at our guild annual beach retreat.  I really had to work hard to earn this award and in doing so went so against the grain of my usual cheerful and upbeat personality.

The theme of this year’s retreat was Back to the Sixties.  Our retreat t-shirts were bright (I mean GLOW IN THE DARK bright) orange and yellow tie-dyed.  You can see what I mean in the picture links that follow. 

The first picture is Frances (Flossie Mae) working hard on a project with her train quilt top hanging behind her.img_17671.jpg 

This is Jolene (Sharonna).  img_17611.jpg 

And here is Corky (Probie) in her Back to the Sixties fashion contest costume.  img_17451.jpg

It was as hot as Hades when we arrived Friday morning and getting moved into the conference center just about wiped all of us out.  Luckily the AC was working well this year and the addition of some fans kept the back corner much cooler.

I wish I had a picture of the snack table – as usual it was groaning under the load.  We could have been marooned for a week and not lost a pound!

We had some great activities – the 60’s costume parade, a photo array of each of us from the sixties (and yes, I had a crown on my head even then), and the annual Chinese Gift Exchange which I emcee each year in my Flamingo Princess persona.  That is always great fun watching gifts get stolen and the collusion going on between parties to try to get the most desirable gift.

Happy Hour on the deck, great food from Chef John and Steve, wonderful comaraderie, beautiful quilting projects, and most of all, laughter laughter laughter until your sides split and your panties are just a bit damp!

One of the incidents that sparked a great deal of laughter was inadvertently set off by yours truly.  Sunday evening I was sitting in the floor by my sewing table folding up fabric and putting away one project so I could work on a different one.  Attached to the table behind me was my “side-kick” which has a cup holder and a trash bag for scraps, threads, etc.  I threw a couple of scraps into the scrap bag.  Continued folding and putting leftover fabric into project box.  Started thinking about the scraps I had thrown away.  Decided I shouldn’t have thrown them away (now mind you , I have YARDAGE of those same scraps).  Reached around and up behind me and stuck my hand (attached to my very short arms which are attached to a very short body) down into the scrap bag, yanked out the scraps, turned around, and BAM! the side-kick came unattached from the table and fell on me!  It hit another project box which luckily had a lid on it!  I was in shock.  My table mates were concerned and also startled.  The coffee cup luckily had cold coffee (and Bailey’s) in it.  The coffee was pooling on the top of the project box and then Jolene noticed it was leaking into the project box.  She took off to get papertowels/napkins.  I was trying to get the lid off without getting more coffee into the box.  Got the lid off and looked into the box – a big pool of coffee in one corner – pulled the fabric to the other side – and all of a sudden one little solitary napkin floats down in front of my eyes into the big puddle of coffee.  Flossie Mae to the rescue with the only napkin she had at her sewing spot.  Well………..my ingrained sarcasm rose up and I said, “Why did you bother?”  Then the ridiculousness of the entire situation got the best of me and I started giggling which led to everyone around me giggling which led to full scale hilarity.  Soon the entire room had surrounded us to see what was going on. 

After things had settled down and most of the coffee had gotten mopped up I was back to trying to put fabric away and straighten up – still down on the floor – I scooted around and in doing so I also “tooted.”  Well, I said “excuse me!”  Things would have been fine but Corky giggled and then Jolene started laughing and the next thing you know we were all doubled over – couldn’t stop – the room is looking at us again – and Jolene blurts out, “The Princess toots!” That just set us off even more!  We laughed so hard we cried and got sick at our stomachs.  Cindy was sitting at the table behind us working on a binding and her face was so red and she couldn’t even look up!  I finally picked up my princess wand and waved it around and told everyone to just please “go away!”  That worked.  Then I slunk off in shame to shower and try again.

We played CDs of sixties music all weekend and danced and sang as we sewed.  A wonderful time was had by everyone and we are already looking forward to next year.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheila
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 08:53:59

    Great description of the weekend. Too bad we have to wait 11 months to do it again, Sheila

    Reply

  2. KK
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 09:11:11

    I second that – but if we did it more often it might get old.

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 10:21:34

    ROTFLMAO!! Oh Karen, you guys are a hoot! Y’all look like a lot of fun!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 15:07:20

    We definitely had a good time. I’m still recuperating.

    Reply

  5. Jan
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 11:33:30

    You know… you all are going to find this hard to believe… I’m speechless…. for 24 hours I’ve tried to come up with an appropriate comment… instead I see the pic of Karen with her extra special crown and the pissy duck award that we all know should go to me this week and I just start laughing…. I owe Corky 😉 Good job Corky!!

    Reply

  6. myolivebranch
    Aug 17, 2007 @ 08:20:05

    sounds like way too much fun! toot sweet karen! kayp

    Reply

  7. carlafibers
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 01:21:56

    LOVE! the picture of you! That pissy duck is a riot!

    Reply

  8. KK
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 12:39:29

    Well, my tablemates probably don’t think it was much of a riot having to put up with me and my “pissiness” until I was able to capture the title of Pissy Duck. Thank goodness they love me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

