Lazy Porch Days

While it is still very very hot during the middle of the day, mornings and evenings have become very pleasant – which means we can enjoy the back porch again. 

000_0002-001-12.jpgI found the chaise lounge in a “junktique” shop – it is a creamy yellow – the paint is peeling – I can’t bring myself to repaint it.  The afghan on the back of the chaise is the inspiration for the color scheme of the porch.  It was made in the 70s by my Great Aunt Violet for my mother.  The quilt over the back of the other chair is one I made just for the porch.  Sometimes I use it for a table topper.

000_0003-002-9.jpgThe Ref and I love these tall chairs for bird watching. 

000_0007-006-7.jpgDining alfresco is enhanced by cool accoutrements.  The big round tray and the turquoise and lime six pack holder were early birthday gifts from my good friend Janice.

000_0006-005-6.jpgI love turtles!!  Aren’t these the most darling salt and pepper shakers.  A wonderful gift from my nephew William.

000_0005-004-9.jpgAnother seating area with another afghan made by Great Aunt Violet.  She was very much into lime green!

000_0004-003-11.jpgDining area with another porch quilt as a table topper.  Confession – the plates and glasses came from Dollar General!!  The wonderful straw placemats were part of my birthday present from Janice.

Hope you enjoyed the tour of my outdoor haven.  I’m leaving this afternoon for five days in Cary, NC.  I’m attending a longarm workshop being hosted at Elegant Stitches.  The instructor is Sherry Rogers-Harrison of  Sew Far Sew Good.  I can’t wait!!  Fancy Formal Feathers!!  Whoo-hoo!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Randi
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 09:58:21

    What a lovely space!

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 10:16:45

    Have fun at your workshop!!!! Like you wouldn’t lol…. you will learn so much!! Go Karen!! And I LOVE that outside living space. I wish it was cool enough to head outside at any time of the day.

    Reply

  3. Corky
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 10:57:35

    OMG I just went to Sherry’s website. She is a FABULOUS quilter. Enjoy the class. Can’t wait to see your projects when you return.

    Reply

  4. Julie
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 17:39:37

    I think you have an oasis right on your porch.

    Reply

  5. myolivebranch
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 21:59:55

    I LOVE your outdoor oasis! it’s just perfect. enjoy your class and learn lots! kayp

    Reply

  6. Sheila
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:19:06

    I say it is time for a porch party as soon as the weather cools down a little. Hope you are enjoying your classes, missed you at Ducks, Sheila

    Reply

  7. Gina
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 16:53:18

    Such an inviting place:) Ya done good Buttercup!

    Reply

  8. carlafibers
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 23:57:18

    LOVE, LOVE the colors! What a terrific place to relax, sip a cold drink and read a book or sew.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

