Eating my spinach

I’ve spent the past few days “eating my spinach” which is a term I use when I have to do jobs I really don’t want to do but are necessary.  This time I’ve been at the computer word processing a program booklet for our state guild fall retreat which is coming up Sept.14-16.  I am chairperson this year for the first time and it’s a very daunting task.  We have around 250 quilters each year – we offer classes but also have a Bring Your Own Project area.  We have vendors and a nightly program.  So since August of 2006 when I volunteered to be chairperson of this retreat I have been working towards this next weekend.  At last year’s retreat I shadowed the retreat chairperson.  During November I had to read teacher proposals and class submissions and select classes.  It is very hard to write to someone and reject their submission.  And I worried worried worried over whether I had selected classes that would be popular.  I then had to develop and have printed the registration packet for the entire state guild membership (over 600).  At our annual Spring Meeting each teacher hangs class samples for the membership to see.  At that time I also take pictures of the samples for posting on our website and I make class sample notebooks for the district representatives to have to show the membership across the state.  For the next few months I just sit back and cross my fingers as the retreat registrar handles the incoming paperwork and keeps me updated on the numbers.  And yippee skippee all the classes except one made!!  From prior history it was usually two or even three that would not make.

This past week I have been elbow deep in paperwork.  I finally have all the class rosters and the program booklet plus sundry other things ready to go to the printer tomorrow.  I want to be quilting but I had to eat that spinach first.  I still have some things to do between now and next Thursday when I head out to oversee setup BUT they can be done just a little bit at a time (a few bites of spinach a day instead of the huge POT of spinach I’ve been eating the past few days).

Big reward coming up – a luncheon date on Friday with some of the posse to celebrate my Double Nickel Birthday. 

And……….the roofers have been here since yesterday and the back side of the house is almost finished – a gorgeous shiny steel roof in Hartford Green.  Now if someone could tell me where the painters have disappeared to?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 17:09:29

    Let me know if I can help you with some of that spinach work!

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 17:11:34

    Well had I known I would have baked a cake and shipped it over!! Happy Birthday!! Funny… you eat spinach… I eat frogs… either way best when done and on to the fun things!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. KK
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 17:53:34

    Jan – you still have time to bake – the official day is Saturday!

    Corky – you will be helping lots on Thursday evening but if I need you before then I’ll give a shout. Thanks

    Reply

  4. Jan
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 18:00:50

    Well yes I can bake, but I don’t think it would get there in time… so I’ll bake and send you a picture of us eating the delicious cake in your honor (insert evil grin here)

    Reply

  5. KK
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 18:16:24

    I want those pineapple cupcakes!!!

    Reply

  6. Jan
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 19:04:20

    OK!! 🙂 Those are easy!! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Virginia
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 10:54:56

    If I’d known about the Friday luncheon, I’d have come, too and celebrated. Hope it was wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

