Retreat Report

Retreats are supposed to be restful, right?  NOT!!  Not if you are the chairperson.  I am happy to report that all had a wonderful time – a few minor glitches but nothing that was earthshattering – no one got sick, no one got hurt.  The retreat is held at White Oak Conference and Camp – it is a Baptist camp and conference center in Winnsboro, SC.  It is a lovely place with a large auditorium, motel style rooms, and a big classroom building.  But it is not a Hyatt Hotel – it is a camp/conference center.  No luxuries.  The food is ample but nothing to write home about.  This year the dishwasher in the cafeteria was broken so we ate off of styrofoam plates with plastic utensils.  Heard some grumbling about that but most of the quilters were very understanding.  Two of the three motel buildings had been completely renovated and we were very happy about that.  Hopefully by next year the third building will also be fixed up.  The downstairs classrooms tend to be a little dank – it’s like a daylight basement – the hallway part is underground but the classrooms all are ground level and have large windows.  But there are some moisture problems and some of the quilters complain if they are scheduled to be in those rooms.  But in order to accomodate the number of quilters that want to attend and to offer as many classes as possible we  have to use all of the rooms.

We quilted, we ate, we gave out door prizes, we laughed, we had Show and Tell, and except for a hard rain Friday night (badly needed) we had wonderful weather.

 000_0001-001-5.jpg000_0002-002-5.jpg

 Door prizes!!  I won!!!  I won!!!  A complete Ginny Beyer kit.  It is AWESOME!!!  I rarely win anything and when they showed this one Jolene was saying to me – oh, I want that.  I didn’t even realize they had called my name for a moment.  When I got back to my seat with it and we were looking in it someone asked Jolene if she was looking at her Christmas present.  And I said – NO WAY!!  It’s blues and purples and LIME GREEN and it’s MINE!!

000_0004-004-4.jpg

I didn’t take any classes – chose to be in the Bring Your Own Project rooms  – worked on a couple different things – here’s one that I finished.  It will hopefully be quilted and bound and hanging on my door by Halloween.

I spent most of today just puttering and resting – but I’m getting ready to spend the evening sewing. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 21:43:52

    It sounds wonderful!!! What a beautiful kit!! And I’m glad it went so well. LOVE the pumpkins! Don’t let my princess see those lol.. and I’m glad you are energized!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

