My latest work

000_0015-014.jpgMiss Shirley is the sweetest lady that I met when I worked at People, Places, and Quilts.  She is fairly new to quilting and usually hand pieces and hand quilts most of her work.  She has a wonderful sense of color and loves unusual fabrics.  Recently she has been doing some piecing by machine and she will attach long borders by machine.  She called me a month or so ago and said she had three tops that she would like for me to quilt.  She wanted them finished and knew she didn’t have time to hand quilt them and I was the only person she would trust to quilt them.  Boy, talk about pressure.

I really liked this one – the color and the design.  I did a feather like fleur de lis in the background.

  000_0016-015.jpg

 000_0017-016.jpgA flowing feather in the outer border and cross hatching diamonds in the brown sections.

I’m taking this one plus a sampler to her tomorrow.  The third one has to go back to her to have a larger backing made. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 17:24:24

    Very cool. Wish I could have seen them today in person. Oh, well, the best laid plans…

    Reply

  2. Sheila Moore
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 21:13:17

    KK, you did a great job on the quilting. I am glad I got to see them in person before you returned them. Sheila

    Reply

  3. carlafibers
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 20:12:41

    Karen, you did a terrific job on this quilt!! Love your feathers!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 08:51:12

    Thank you so much – means a lot coming from you, Carla!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

