Shock and Awe

Yesterday the TTT posse had a great day visiting People, Places and Quilts – both locations, Summerville and Charleston, SC.  We also had a wonderful lunch at California Dreaming on the Charleston Harbour.  During lunch the girls presented me with a special gift.  Last year we went to Pigeon Forge, TN for the Pigeon Forge Quiltfest.  I reserved three condos using my timeshare points.  We had such a great time we are doing it again this year.  While we were there last year we visited Pigeon River Pottery and I fell in love with their work and said when I got my kitchen remodeled I wanted to get a set of pottery.  Well………..these wonderful friends – ten of them – each got me a $25 gift certificate to the Pottery so I can shop for my dishes this year.  I was stunned speechless which is saying something. 

These gals have become the best support system in the world – for me – and for each other.  Just the fact that they will drive 20+ miles to spend a day playing in my studio is overwhelming to me.  They say they are thanking me for the studio time and for using my timeshare for the trip.  I say they have given me so much in friendship that nothing else is necessary.

I lectured someone the other day about graciously and gratefully accepting an unexpected gift.  While I don’t feel I deserve such a generous outpouring I plan to have a ball spending those gift certificates and I am extremely grateful to all of them.

So……………..to Maureen, Sheila, Janice, Joanne, Jolene, Virginia, Corky, Betsy, Frances, and Cindy – THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!  YOU GUYS ARE THE GREATEST!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AllenQuilts
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 22:51:29

    How sweet! Have fun shopping!

    Reply

  2. KK
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 23:13:42

    The show isn’t until March. I can’t wait – hopefully the kitchen will be done by then. I’ll post pics when I make my purchase. I’ll get a link to the pottery up as soon as I find it.

    Reply

  3. Maureen
    Dec 18, 2007 @ 08:43:37

    You are welcome! It is not just utilities and such these are small things compared to the place you have provided for friendship and love. I come feeling joy and leave knowing I have been blessed with the bonds we have formed and will form over the coming years.

    The website for the pottery shop is :www.old-mill.com
    This will give you the whole Old Mill Square.

    Reply

  4. Sheila Moore
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 21:33:51

    KK, you are very welcome. I am looking forward to seeing the pottery studio in March. I sure hope your kitchen remodel is complete by then. I am anxious for the holidays to be over so we can get back to quilting. I miss our time together. Sheila

    Reply

  5. KK
    Dec 20, 2007 @ 10:41:06

    And you all know you can escape the madness and hide in the studio in Harleyville at any time! No invitation necessary – just call to be sure I’m there.

    Reply

  6. virginia
    Dec 20, 2007 @ 15:27:04

    You are very welcome. I really appreciate having a place to go to get away from everything I could do at home instead of sew. It’s so good to get together with friends and do something you love. I’ll see you at the studio on New Year’s Day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

