Dear Jane quilting

Here are some pics of my quilting progress on the Dear Jane Quilt.  I like the shell feathers in the scallops.  The stippling is really making the applique and piecing pop.  It’s hard to see the quilting in the outer brown border – I used a taupe colored thread there and it really blends in.  Also used the taupe in the colored triangles in that border.  Using an ivory on the stippling.   

 corner.jpg      000_0003-003.jpg

So far the Prince is being very charming as is Calico Patchcat Kitty.  Isn’t she the sweetest when she’s asleep??   

good-kitty.jpg

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AllenQuilts
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 12:40:54

    Looking good!

    Reply

  2. KK
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 13:06:55

    Thanks, Randi

    It’s slow going with the stippling – I can do about two rows and then I have to take a break. Eight more to go!

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 13:32:07

    I think it’s looking really good!! And I can not believe how big kitty is!!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 13:44:59

    She seems to grow an inch every day! Her appt for surgery is Feb. 6 – I figure as manic as she is getting fixed is something than needs to happen sooner rather than later – I can just see more kitties being born under the studio. Back to stippling.

    Reply

  5. Corky
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 16:45:40

    Oh, KK, it’s going to be fantastic!

    Callie isn’t going to be able to sleep on that stool much longer. She’s going to be bigger than the top of the thing soon. When you see that photo of her it’s hard to believe that’s the same cat that claws her way up my leg!

    Reply

  6. KK
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 18:41:16

    And she can still climb legs – believe me – I’ve stippled half this quilt with her hanging on me! LOL I’ve had a nice long nap and I’m headed back up there in a bit to do two more rows. That takes me an hour to an hour and a half.

    Reply

  7. myolivebranch
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 08:17:59

    oh my. that’s going to be a stunner! thanks for sharing. kayp

    Reply

  8. Sheila Moore
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 09:38:46

    Karen, Dear Jane is looking great. Can’t wait to see it up close and personal. You will need an appointment with a massage therapist when you get finished. Callie is really getting big. Sounds like I need to come up for a nail trimming session. How about those baby teeth, any falling out yet? I am typing with Misty on my lap. She has been feeling bad since yesterday so all she wants is Mom’s lap. She got in a fight Thursday night and it takes her a few days to get over it. Her arthritis seems to be acting up. She thinks she is 3 not 13!!! Keep up the good work with Dear Jane, Sheila

    Reply

  9. KK
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 11:44:32

    Sheila – I have seen no signs of teeth falling out and since she was very interested in chewing on me earlier this morning and I have the holes in my hand to prove she has all her teeth I guess that hasn’t happened yet.

    I’m being very careful to not overdo the stippling – no long sessions – two rows and then a break for a couple of hours. Seems to be working.

    Reply

  10. Sheila Moore
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 17:43:55

    I just did a google search, and kitten teeth fall out from 11 to 30 weeks. We may be waiting a while!!! Sheila

    Reply

  11. KK
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 18:18:55

    let’s see…..30 weeks is a little over 7 months?? Yep – I think she’s not quite 5 months now. I’m guestimating her birthday at between August 10 and 20. The first time I heard her crying under the house was about August 20.

    I was up really early this morning so Callie and I took a little snooze around 9 AM. I dreamed there were FIVE little kittens tearing around the studio. NIGHTMARE!!

    Reply

  12. Virginia
    Dec 25, 2007 @ 19:39:23

    The quilt looks good. I can’t wait to see it in person.

    Callie looks so cute on her stool. It’s a little strange to see her quiet.

    My sons cats, Tiger and Toby, are neat. Tiger likes to sit on my lap and Toby spends the night with me in the spare bedroom.

    I’ll bet my cats hope I get home soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

