Quilting

center-feather.jpgheart-wreath-from-back.jpgsara-resized-full-view.jpg

The Charleston Museum (oldest in the country!) has a quilt in its collection called the Sara Rosenstock Wedding Quilt.  It’s in a Baltimore Album style but much more folk arty than the typical Baltimore Album.  A few years ago the museum allowed one of our guild members to copy the blocks and produce patterns of them.  Kim also taught classes at the museum – they did four blocks at a time – which is also how the patterns were published.  I believe there were 20 blocks in all.  The quilt pics below are my friend Janice’s rendition of four of the blocks using a modern twist on the fabrics and colors.  I feel very privileged to have been allowed to quilt it.  It will hang in our show, A Celebration of Quilts, on March 1 & 2.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KK
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 23:05:51

    Well, I see I have the pics out of order. Just like my brain!

    Reply

  2. Corky
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 16:38:35

    Beautiful quilt – but I’d expect no less from you and Janice! I actually didn’t know the story of the quilt & the fact it’s patterned after one at the Museum so it was nice to read about it. Like the photo of Callie Cat. She sure is pretty!

    Reply

  3. KK
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 19:39:11

    Thanks, Corky! I bought you a present today!! So you had better be at TTT next week.

    Reply

  4. KK
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 01:36:13

    I”ve conquered resizing enough to get pics to upload again. I’ll try to get this post in better shape tomorrow when my brain isn’t so fried.

    Reply

  5. Corky
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 17:39:41

    OH – pressies! I can’t wait. I feel like it has been FOREVER since I’ve seen everyone. I miss ya all.

    Reply

  6. Sheila Moore
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 19:03:57

    I can’t wait to see the quilt up close and personal. Callie looks so sweet in the pic. You can tell she looks a little woozy still. Sheila

    Reply

  7. Judy
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 22:08:50

    Really nice feathers, Karen. Looking forward to seeing the REAL thing.

    Reply

  8. Alice Lynn
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 10:21:09

    the feathers are amazing! I love feathers. Great job, Ace!

    Reply

  9. carlafibers
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 12:32:59

    Love the quilting, Karen!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

