Sick Kitty

I’ve been dealing with a sick kitty cat since Wednesday.  It’s probably my fault so I want to warn everyone to be very careful using Carpet Fresh or related products around their animals.  Tuesday I thought the studio smelled a bit stale.  I usually use the spray foam that dissipates but I was out of it so I put down some of the powder type.  Then I got distracted and forgot it was down for over a day.  Wednesday afternoon I realized Callie wasn’t eating and was not acting like the lively kitty she usually is.  By that time the vet was gone for the day.  I started pushing water and diluted lamb baby food down her with a syringe.  The vet is not in on Thursday.  I kept forcing the fluids down her – and by Thursday evening she was better and had started eating a bit on her own.  Friday showed more improvement but then Friday night she started refusing food again and getting listless.  Even worse this morning so off to the vet we went.  He gave her an antibiotic in case she had developed a secondary infection – she has had loose bowels since Thursday.  Told me to keep up the fluids and sent me home with additional antibiotic.  She was perkier at the vet’s and got downright mad when she saw Dr. Glenn.  He palpated her abdodmen and she didn’t show signs of discomfort.  Home we came and she immediately demanded food and has been eating and drinking and even playing some since then.  So hopefully the worst is over.  The label on the Carpet Fresh clearly says to keep pets away until it is vacuumed up.  I’ve used it in the house and not had a problem with the dogs or cats here, but I’ve never left it down where it could get on them, and undoubtedly she got it on her paws and then ingested it when she was washing up. 

The house now has hardwood floors or ceramic tile throughout.  I think I might get the carpet out of the studio soon – would be easier to keep clean if I laid some kind of vinyl or laminate flooring.  I just hate to think of having to move the Prince and the sewing tables, cutting tables, storage bins, etc in order to have it done.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AllenQuilts
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 20:31:24

    Glad she’s better! What a scare!

    Reply

  2. Sheila Moore
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 20:33:04

    Glad to hear Callie is feeling better, I know that makes Mom feel better. I am sure getting the carpet out of the studio would help with cleaning and allergies also. Happy Easter, Sheila

    Reply

  3. Judy
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 22:40:22

    Sorry you had the scare, Karen. Our little animals can’t always tell us where they hurt.
    I’m also thinking about getting rid of carpet in my studio. It’s a little overwhelming when you think about all the HEAVY stuff that would have to be moved.
    Happy Easter and thankfulness that you have an almost well kitty.

    Reply

  4. g. holland
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 23:23:41

    I just love the quilt Floral Elegance and would love to have the pattern. I have been unable to find who designed it. Could you please help. Thanks.

    Reply

  5. KK
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 09:33:05

    Floral Elegance is Virginia’s version of an older Robyn Pandolph pattern called Botanika. I believe it has been reprinted.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

