Coffee, anyone?

Work on the new kitchen seems to have stalled again – waiting on the granite countertop people.  But I pulled out a wallhanging (top) I had made about two years ago and have it quilted, bound, and a hanging sleeve attached – ready to go on the wall in the eating area as soon as the kitchen is finished.  Coffee is going to be my theme………I have fabrics to make some tablerunners and placemats and even a neat batik fabric with coffee cups/mugs on it that I might make window treatments out of.  I’m leaning towards a warm gold for the wall colors.

Here’s some pictures – the full size pic shows true colors – the close-up is washed out and I thought I had my flash off.   The background color around the coffee cups is what I’m thinking of for wall paint – maybe a bit deeper. 

       

WordPress has changed how to do posts and add pictures.  Why do I have to continually learn something new??  LOL

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheila Moore
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 17:20:12

    I am so jealous—I wish I could find some time to sew. I am going to love the coffee theme. Can we come over for a cuppa when the redo is finished??? Sheila

    Reply

  2. Corky
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 19:04:21

    Sorry to hear you’ve hit a stopping point, but I’m sure it will be worth it in the end. Can’t wait to see the finished kitchen.

    Reply

  3. KK
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 22:24:04

    If I didn’t have the studio to hide out in, do some cooking in, etc, I would really be screaming my head off. It’s a major operation down here just to fill the dogs’ water bowl.

    On a brighter note – we moved the couch from my den to the studio so now Callie Cat and I can take naps again!

    Reply

  4. Caron Mosey
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 07:11:08

    Love the little coffee wallhanging. I found your blog this morning through Google, and glad I did. I’ll be reading on a regular basis!

    Caron in Michigan
    http://blog.caronmosey.com

    Reply

  5. KK
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 11:56:23

    Thanks, Caron – and I’m headed over to visit your blog.

    Reply

  6. Carolinian in Texas
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 12:01:05

    KK…are those your quilts featured on Pat Sloan’s blog???? WOW…and I can say I knew you when…lol.

    Reply

  7. Judy Heyward
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 12:52:40

    Good work, Karen–but most especially good work on making your life work while you’re waiting for something you have no control over. It is always frustrating while you’re in the midst of remodeling and you figured out a way to make things better.

    Reply

  8. KK
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 19:07:47

    The quilts on Pat Sloan’s blog were pieced and appliqued by Jolene and quilted by yours truly. I told Pat all of this when I sent her the pictures – I don’t know why she is only giving me credit.

    Remodeling………………..thank goodness when this is done there is nothing left to do (I HOPE!!). And thank goodness I have a studio with a small WORKING kitchen in it I can escape to. If not I would definitely have been a very very complaining person.

    Reply

  9. carlafibers
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 23:28:02

    Love your swirly quilting texture, Karen!!

    You are going to love your new countertops!

    Reply

  10. KK
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 23:32:15

    I sure hope the wait will be worthwhile. I’m definitely ready to get this project over and done with. The contractor promises me it will all be done by the end of the coming week. Then starts the fun of unpacking all the storage crates and getting things back into the kitchen and laundry area. I love my new cabinets and floor – will love them even more when I can actually USE them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

