Recent Quilting

I did some “for me” quilting over the weekend – this pattern is called Do the Twist and the colors are perfect for my new den/office.  I did a Terry Twist in the yellow/gold nine-patch blocks and used an oak leaf stencil in the red “twist” blocks.  As you can see – I’m working on stitching down the binding.

    

Last night I did this lap quilt for Jolene.  She used the Charleston III reproduction fabrics and I think the top pattern is Take 5 but don’t hold me to that!  I just did my most favorite freehand overall – floopy oak type leaves.  It is so relaxing to me to quilt this pattern. 

    

Next up is a King Size “Rambling Rose Meets Jamestown” pieced by Joanne – one of the TTT gang.  She does wonderful piecing and I’m looking forward to quilting this one.  We had a “consultation” today and I showed her the patterns I’m planning to quilt in the blocks and borders and we selected threads.  The back and batting are loaded and the top is pinned on – tomorrow I start basting and stabilizing and then doing some marking.  I expect this one will take me close to a week to quilt. 

All of the TTT gang was “in the studio” today except Sheila.  We missed her.  We had a wonderful time sewing and designing and laughing.  The Ref went to the strawberry patch and picked strawberries for almost everyone there.  He truly is a Prince of a hubby!

On the “home front” the granite people finally showed up yesterday to measure for my countertops.  No workers at all today.  Oh well………..it will all get done – I’m crossing my fingers and toes for the end of April. 

While it is still cool today the sun was shining and it was glorious outside.  We need to enjoy the spring “freshness” in the air – too soon it will be hot, sticky, and miserable.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 21:16:04

    Well quilting makes this quilt!. I Love It!……..may have to reconsider where it ends up 🙂
    Thank you!!

    Reply

  2. Jolene
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 21:19:03

    I love the do the twist quilt!. I may have to buy that pattern………like i need another pattern 🙂 Cant wait to see the new kitchen and den

    Reply

  3. Corky
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 22:24:29

    Is that first quilt the same one you showed us today? The colors look different in this photo.

    Reply

  4. Judy
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 22:33:26

    Karen, I’m amazed at what you get done! Great work.

    Reply

  5. KK
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 23:46:00

    Thanks, Judy. I spend a lot of time “in the studio” and love every minute of it. I’m going to have to take some time out soon to work in the flower beds and garden. And one day soon I hope to be putting everything back into my NEW kitchen. Then I can give the dining room a good cleaning – most of the dry wall dust settled there. We’ve gotten it out of all of the other rooms. I still have pictures and quilts than need to be hung from when we finished the renovation of the rest of the house last fall. It will all get put together some day.

    Yes, Corky, that is the quilt I showed you today. I don’t use a flash when I take pics but I think my side lighting may have washed it out a bit.

    I got the rows on my Fractured Diamonds sewn together tonight and got it all squared up so I’m ready now for the borders. But that is for another day – tomorrow is quilting time on the Prince.

    Reply

  6. Sheila Moore
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 16:13:25

    I sure miss you guys. I am looking forward to our outings this weekend. KK, you make me want to sew so bad. Someday soon I am going to have more time at home to do what I love, Sheila

    Reply

  7. KK
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 06:24:36

    Sheila – you have been missed, too. Hang in there, kiddo, October will be here and wedding will be over and done before you know it. Then you will have lots of free time and we’ll keep you busy so you don’t get “empty nest syndrome.”

    Reply

  8. carlafibers
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 23:26:09

    Terrific quilting!! Love the pics!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

