House Tour – Room One – My Den

I’m finally ready to start showing the great house renovation.  First up on the tour is my den.  We added two rooms and bath on to the house in 1997-98.  This room was my sewing room – it’s approximately 14 by 14 and used to house everything for my quilting and my computer – except the longarm.  It has big windows on two walls and a slider out to the covered back porch.  The slider is behind the recliner.  That is a great recliner – I love to kick back in it and take a snooze!  The sheer window treatments are actually aabout the same color as the chair but the light coming through makes them look so much lighter in the picture.                          This is the computer area – the hutch I’m using was made by my Daddy.  He used it to house all his media components in his den.  Beside it is an antique Singer machine in a Martha Washington cabinet.  The wallhanging was made by a group of NQA certified judges while at their retreat in Cedar Lakes, WV.  I won it at the NQA Little Quilt Auction two years ago.  It has wonderful quilting on it with a WV countryside scene and the blocks look like the mountains.  This is my new chair – extra wide and it has a twin sleeper sofa in it.  In front is my new ottoman with a little quilt on top of it.  I didn’t get a picture of the table behind the chair – but it is the base to a treadle sewing machine and my father made a drop leaf top for it.                                                 The TV is sitting on top of an old TV cabinet that belonged to my mother-in-law.  When the tv in it went bad she had someone turn it into a storage unit with shelves inside and doors on the front.  I made the magnolia wall hanging years ago – my FIRST paper-pieced project.  The other two pictures have inspirational sayings.  One says Give Love, Gather Love and the other one says Life is a Promise…Fulfill It.    My CD, cassette tape, and “record” player with more inspiration/motivation hanging above it.I found this area rug on sale and managed to get it marked down even more.  The colors look a bit washed out in this picture.  I just love it – has a quilty look to it.

Hope you enjoyed the tour – come and sit a spell and stitch with me someday soon!

Next up…………in a day or so………….the Ref’s Den.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AllenQuilts
    May 03, 2008 @ 14:16:47

    I love home tours! Yours is beautiful…that is a neat rug! Looking forward to the rest of it.

    Reply

  2. Carolinian in Texas
    May 03, 2008 @ 18:37:16

    KK…I am so impressed with your new den. I remember it when…..when it was your quilt room, and I was envious then, and more so now. You “extra” big chair is very much like one I just bought, but mine is a recliner (and yes, some one could sleep in it). I love, love, love the rug….well, I love the whole room. I think I am finally inspired to do something with my house…..now just gotta get busy.

    Just one K

    Reply

  3. Judith S. Heyward
    May 03, 2008 @ 19:39:42

    Thanks for the tour, Karen. Everything looks so nice and “decorated.” It’s nice to see your quilts around your home.

    Reply

  4. Ivory Spring
    May 06, 2008 @ 00:38:16

    Hi Karen,

    I love how you have decorated your home with your quilts – very nice. I am a quilter myself, and am now working to incorporate quilts at various places throughout my house.

    Reply

Leave a comment