My latest quilting

I just completed this quilt on Thursday – it’s for a first-time customer who usually does her own handquilting so I was very pleased she selected me to quilt for her.  She told me she didn’t want a lot of quilting and that she wanted me to draw from the leaves in the focus fabric she used.  She also hoped that the solid (looking) pinwheels would not stand out as much.  I used Quilter’s Dream Cotton Select as the batting with YLI Signature Variegated Tan to Green on top and Bottom Line Tan in the bobbin.  In the bright pinwheels I alternated a spinning fern leaf with a spinning “floopy” leaf and did swirling tendrils in the dark pinwheels.  I incorporated both leaves and the tendrils into the border motif.  I delivered the quilt to my customer Thursday night at guild and she was very pleased and showed it off during Show and Tell giving me a nice bit of publicity.

 

I’m still learning how to manipulate the picture gallery feature for the blog – maybe by the next posting I’ll get the pictures in the correct order!  Don’t forget you can click on each thumbnail picture to see a larger view – and you can click on that picture to get an even larger view.  And I’ve posted three times in the past two days so if you haven’t visited in awhile be sure to scroll down and see it all.

The Ref has gone to Savannah, GA for the day to umpire a baseball tournament and after the poochies and I go for our walkabout I’m headed to the library for some new audiobooks and then to the studio for the next quilt.

Wishing all my readers a wonderful weekend and a Happy Mother’s Day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AllenQuilts
    May 10, 2008 @ 08:31:29

    I’m sure she was very pleased! I think you you really “delivered” on this one for her. Great job!

    Reply

  2. Judy Heyward
    May 11, 2008 @ 12:11:05

    Good work on Alice’s quilt, Karen! I know she’s happy with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

