Gators in the Studio!!

Three of the gals from Mt. Pleasant (fondly known as the Gators for their mascot) came up to sew with me today.  We missed Rita who was under the weather and Nancy who was out of town.  But June, Carol, Pam and I had a wonderful time sewing together.  June was making the cutest aprons for her granddaughters with matching aprons for their American Girl dolls.  The pattern was from a Cindy Taylor Oates book.  Pam worked on two Block of the Months and then made a pillowcase for her DH.  Carol worked on a Block of the Month and on hand applique.  I pieced more subunits for my Chocolate Mint Truffle quilt. 

I fixed lunch – three cheese quiche, a salad, mini-croissants, grapes and watermelon, and two-bite brownies.  Lest you think I morphed into Martha Stewart – allow me to dissaude you of that notion.  Mrs. Smith’s quiche in a carton – poured into a Mrs. Smith’s deep dish pie shell.  Most complicated thing was preheating the oven.  Prewashed spring greens mix with walnuts and raisins and dried cherries and thinly sliced (yeah for the food processor) Vidalia onions with a raspberry poppy seed dressing (sugar and oil free).  Mini-croissants and two -bite brownies from the Publix bakery.  I did get brave and cut the watermelon myself!  And since we sew in a trailer – of course we used paper plates and plastic utensils!

I had my camera up in the studio with me but forgot to take a single picture.  Sure wish I had gotten one of June’s aprons – they are the most darling things I’ve seen in ages. 

Any day spent sewing/quilting is a good day – add the company of good friends and it’s a wonderful day!

And TTT gals – you know I love you best!  LOL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 22:32:22

    Good thing you added that last sentence about loving us TTT people best!! Sounds like it was fun.

    Reply

  2. Judy Heyward
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 08:13:37

    Sounds like Martha to me, Karen! Glad you had a good time with June, Carol and Pam.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

