Quilt Shop Musings

The other day I posed the question – what makes a quilt shop a great shop?  Here are my thoughts – please feel free to add yours. 

First and foremost – great displays.  Samples samples samples with kits kits kits. Merchandising is everything.

Second – a wide selection of fabrics.  All displayed neatly.  I like it when a fabric group is displayed together.  I also look for shelves of blenders arranged by color way.

Third  – a good selection of books, patterns, and notions.

I like to see a section where new items are displayed.  A cozy area to sit and browse through a book. 

And of course I’m forgetting the very most important aspect – customer service!  Friendly and knowledgeable sales staff make me want to return again and again.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 00:45:47

    In general I agree with your thoughts, although kits don’t really interest me. I’m sure I’m in the minority about that though. Pattern selection isn’t very important to me, but I love notions! Sometimes I think I’m a notions slut.

    Reply

  2. Joyce
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 09:58:55

    Kits don’t interest me either. It’s BOOKS that do me in. I love books. There have been many trips that I will not buy fabric but $200.00 worth of books. I also like to see finished quilts displayed instead of just the top. Quilting adds so much to the design process instead of just seeing a flat top. A great selection of Fat Quarters. I want every piece of fabric that I see, but, can’t have yardage in everything–so–Lots of Fat Quarters.

    Reply

  3. KK
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 11:29:25

    I agree Joyce – fat quarters are essential. If I really like the sample then I think a kit is great. And I’ve gotten many calls for my machine quilting services because I’ve quilted a sample for a shop.

    Reply

  4. kayp
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 11:40:31

    yes, samples really do it for me. i like kits but i like them in “chunks” so that i can switch out fabrics and make it my own…..so a kit made out of fat quarters is ideal…even if i have plenty of extras.

    i detest it when there is fabric on the floors to walk around. i like a good selection of books too because i don’t feel as guilty for some reason if i buy a book for $25 and never ever make anything out of it but get hours of enjoyment looking at it compared to spending $25 on fabric that never gets made into a project.

    but for me…..the kicker is the staff. i want them knowledgeable, current, interested, kind, helpful and pleasant (not asking for much am i?!?)

    Reply

  5. Judy Heyward
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 12:35:11

    I agree with everything that’s been said so far. And, now my question is: Who is going to open the perfect shop? Because that’s where I want to spend my money.

    Reply

  6. KK
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 15:46:41

    Judy, et al——-when I retired I seriously considered opening a shop – especially after I did some time at PPQ. My sister and her hubby both own their own businesses. Carla is a musician and has a Kindermusik studio. She has done very very well. She told me that if I wanted to stay on the “creative” side of my quilting that I would not want to own a shop – it’s 24/7 for years and years. But I still get that urge a lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

