Farewell to a Fine Friend

My Rascal

My Rascal

Today is a sad day.  Rascal has been failing all summer – we could not find out what was wrong – he became very lame in his hind legs – prednisone helped for awhile but also caused bad side effects.  He constantly ran a temperature and lost his appetite (altho the prednisone overcame that).  He was losing weight………his face became gaunt – I could put my fist under his collar from it’s usual setting.  Could feel his backbone and see his ribs.  But the prednisone gave him a big belly and I could hear his breathing become more and more labored.  This morning he fell twice trying to come up the deck steps and that was the straw that broke the camel’s back – I called Doc Shuler and this afternoon we held his head and petted him while Doc sent him to Pet Heaven.

We have had many wonderful pets and have a large pet cemetery on the back of our property.  I have loved each and every one of them dearly.  Rascal was extra special to me as he was MY dog…………my darling Billy Bumbler. 

Goodbye dear friend.  I’ll see you waiting for me at the other side of the bridge one day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Heyward
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 08:41:14

    Karen, having gone through the same thing recently, I know what you’re going through right now. These special family members grab our hearts in a way that cannot be quantified and love us unconditionally. And Rascal was bless to have someone who loved him so well.

    Reply

  2. Caron Mosey
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 12:15:21

    So sorry to hear about Rascal. It’s always difficult when we lose our furry kids. My heart goes out to you!!!

    Reply

  3. Lynn Douglass
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 01:55:57

    I’m sorry that you had to say good-bye to Rascal. Having gone through this many times, I feel for you.

    Reply

  4. Joyce
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 20:51:56

    Karen, I am so sorry for your loss. As I read your post I am looking at my dear friend of 14 years,Jake. He is trying so hard to be the friend that he has been, but time is taking its tole on him also. May God be with you and that you know that your friend will always look out for you from above.

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 14:43:32

    My deepest sympathies.

    Reply

  6. AllenQuilts
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 10:07:34

    I’m sorry about Rascal. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

