Red and White and Wild and Crazy

What a title!  After the intense quilting on the beautiful Stars in My Garden customer quilt I decided to do some fast and fun quilting.  First up, a red and white birds in the air by my friend Donna.  The fabrics came from a red and white/cream swap done by my guild a few years ago.  Donna really wanted this one done to gift her mother with this weekend so I loaded it up Tuesday and had it to her by Wednesday evening.  Then I went to the “quilt top closet” which is full of tops and backs of my own and of Jolene’s (BFF extraordinaire) and let them talk to me.  Jolene had purchased a FQ pack of a fabric line called Russian Rhapsody a few years ago and I showed her how to do a “crazy cut” block – essentially a stack and slice and shift technique.  Then we shopped for sashing and cornerstones and she added a pieced outer border.  It is very wild and we named it her “Mad Russian.”  The sashing fabric has dragonflies in it and some of the motifs in the Russian Rhapsody line look like butterflies/dragonflies/ bugs of some sort so I just do an overall of doodlebugs with a bright variegated thread.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 20:13:24

    Very cool quilts.

    Reply

  2. Judy Heyward
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 20:26:06

    More good work, Karen. Yeh . . .you get a LOT more done than I do!

    Oh, I really don’t think so…. maybe just different things.

    KK

    Reply

Leave a Reply

