Settling in to her new home

Lucy the new kitty is settling in to the studio life very well.  It took her about a day and a half to recuperate from her shots.  I was very concerned that having been an outside cat for her entire life (I think she’s just a year or a bit more old) that she might balk at using a litter box.  We got her her own box and put it in the other bathroom.  Callie Cat immediately demonstrated how to use it.  After a couple of times where I took her to the box after she had eaten she was good to go on her own.  But I have found Callie sitting on the toilet seat supervising.

She’s getting braver about exploring the studio and has not shown any inclination to escape to the great outdoors.  I guess she knows a good thing when she sees it.  She’s already learned the sound of the Temptations snack bag being shook. 

She likes the red play cube as much as Callie – along with playing in it she also likes to use it for a house.

imgp1265

When Janice and I were in Houston last year I fell in love with a BQ2 quilt kit at one of the vendors.  It’s been pieced and a back made for quite awhile.  It was “my turn” to have a top quilted so I started working on it.  At first I was just going to do a leafy or ferny meander but then I decided to do something a bit more special.  Here’s what I’ve done so far.  I’ll go back and put some details in the big flower motifs and will also quilt in the red sashing  – haven’t decided exactly what is going there yet.  I’ve got one more row of the flower blocks to pebble in the background and then I’ll change to red thread for the flowers and the sashing.  This one is for my red love seat in the dining room.

imgp1274

The weather man is saying we may see some snow flurries tomorrow afternoon!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 22:08:48

    Wow!!! is all I can say!!!!

    Thank you very much – from KK and Lucy Lawless

    Reply

  2. Corky
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 22:35:58

    The quilt is going to be spectacular!

    Reply

  3. Cathi
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 09:44:32

    You guys get snow?!? Let me know how that turns out! I’m glad the cats are getting along….or at least not killing each other. I brought a second cat into the house once. They didn’t like each other but didn’t fight either. I think they were just indifferent. The quilt looks beautiful. Glad you are getting to do something for yourself.

    Reply

  4. Suzanne
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 17:26:23

    That quilt is going to be wonderful!

    Reply

  5. Judy Heyward
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 22:45:03

    You’ve really got a handle on those feathers, Karen! Great work–beautiful work. Glad Lucy’s got such a great family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

