Aardvarks, Pumpkins, Cats, and a Crow

If that title didn’t pique your interest then nothing will!!

My friend and quilting buddy Janice and I traveled to Houston to  THE SHOW in 2007.  While there Janice purchased a pattern called Aardvark and a set of fat quarters to use with it.  She also added fabrics from her stash once she began the construction.  We don’t know why it is called Aardvark but it’s a pretty cool quilt.  I quilted it for her yesterday morning and she came and picked it up right after lunchtime.  I quilted large echoed swirls all over to counterpoint the straight line piecing.  My camera battery was low and the colors in the pictures look washed out.

IMGP3021 012

IMGP3022 013

IMGP3023 014

While I was at Jolene’s two weekends ago I purchased a pattern called Jack at the Gate.  Here is my version of it.  It’s  a small wallhanging or little table topper size.  I did a few changes.  The middle pumpkin was up on the fence top but to me looked like it was floating.  Two of the pumpkins had Jack o’ Lantern faces and I wanted mine to just be for fall and not Halloween.  Isn’t the fence fabric great?  I did this one all from fabrics in Jolene’s stash.  Corky says the knot holes on the fence look like bird poop. 

IMGP3030 007

And finally – studio pics of the studio cats, Lucy Lawless and Calico Patchkat.  They sure are good company when I’m working alone and the very best quilt inspectors ever!

IMGP3025 002

IMGP3026 003

I hope everyone has a wonderful Halloween weekend.  Jolene is coming in and we’re going to have a quiltathon with lots of treats and no tricks.  She’s bring fresh apple turnovers and fritters and jugs of cider.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janice
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 08:44:30

    You did it again, girlfriend! Took a ho-hum quilt (with less than purrfect piecing in a couple of spots) and made it an awesome thing to behold!
    Thx, Janice

    Reply

  2. Sheila Moore
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 10:30:15

    Beautiful quilt, Janice. Wonderful quilting, KK. I love the fall piece. I wish we couold decorate with pumpkins all year long. It is definately my favorite season. Turnovers and fritters and cider, oh my!!!!Sheila

    Reply

  3. arlijohn
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 15:06:59

    Love the quilt Janice made and the quilting enhances the design. It is a strange name though. I envy the two of you your quilting Halloween, sounds like fun.

    Reply

  4. Alice Lynn
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 15:14:53

    Neat aardvark!

    Sounds like a fun weekend planned. Now is the cider hard or soft?????? Enjoy

    Reply

  5. KK
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 21:08:02

    THe cider is soft but I know how to make it have some zing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

