Serendipity Sampler

Jolene and I have always loved Kim Diehl’s work and we were thrilled to be able to take a two day cass with her at Mountain Quiltfest in Pigeon Forge this week.  Kim does a method of invisible machine applique using freezer paper.  I really wanted to learn a new way to machine applique because I am tired of fusing and having a raw edge and also trying to long arm quilt through fusibles.  Kim’s method is just what I have been looking for.  She uses monofilament thread and that is what we used in the class.  But I am going to also use this method with blanket stitching, decorative stitching, etc.  Not only is the stiffness from the fusible gone but it allows you to cut away the layers behind the applique each time.

Here are our first blocks of this four block sampler.  Each block is 24 inches square.  First up, Jolene’s:

Here is mine:

Kim Diehl was a wonderful teacher – very sweet and patient and gave good explanations and demonstrations.  She has a new book coming out in the fall – can’t wait to see it!!

I got some nice pictures of the quilts in the show that won ribbons or caught my eye.  I will share those is a later post when I am home on my larger computer.

Hope everyone remembered to Spring Forward!  And I sure hope that means spring weather is on it’s way – I’ve been cold all week here in Pigeon Forge.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheila
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 09:16:59

    Beautiful, glad you enjoyed your class and your time away. You needed it after the stress of the show. BTW, I don’t see all the berries on Jolene’s??? Sheila

    Reply

  2. Frances Patrick
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 14:15:25

    Very beautiful blocks. I like both of them. But I’m like Sheila, I couldn’t see all the berries on Jolene’s.
    Glad the class was good and can’t wait to see how she does the applique.
    Frances

    Reply

  3. Alice Lynn
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 17:25:33

    Both look great! Sounds like a fun and worth while jaunt!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 18:21:55

    When we redid the berries Jolene decided she only liked a few instead of the number that Kim used. Kim admitted that she has a berry fetish. Jolene also forgot some leaves. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

