ARIZONA, take off your rainbow shades

So………..sixteen days of travel, five thousand plus miles, the Ref and I are still talking.  Took 294 pictures!!  Still trying to edit all of them.  Our first leg of the journey took us across GA, AL, MS, a tiny corner of TN where we crossed the Mighty Mississippi at Memphis, and then AR, OK, TX, NM, and finally our destination in Sedona, AZ.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words…………so here are a bunch of pictures and just a few words.

View of Arkansas River in Arkansas near the OK border

The Painted Desert

Now a Visitor Center at the Painted Desert, this is an historic inn

Another vista across the Painted Desert

The Petrified Forest - how many "logs" can you find?

Sedona is famous as Red Rock Country. During the heyday of the westerns they built a complete western town under the famous red rocks and used it for many movies.

Views like this everywhere you look.

Ride 'em Cowboy!

There were javelinas around town - this was my favorite - it was outside the offices of the Pink Jeep Tour Company

She was so cute! Her parents kept telling her to take a picture of the pink pig - she was more interested in the sign. I got permission to take her picture.

We booked a tour to the Grand Canyon with the Pink Jeep tour company. We had a Pink minibus for the tour. This is our guide - I have forgotten his name- he was great - very knowledgeable and personable.

This is the Chapel in the Rock - you can see it driving up the road to Sedona. It was built by a student of Frank Lloyd Wright.

The entrance to the Chapel in the Rock is at the top and in the back. It was very very windy up there.

You could see this "compound" from the walkway at the top of the Chapel in the Rock. Can you imagine??

 And here is the piece de resistance:  THE GRAND CANYON!!

I did visit the quilt shop in Sedona.  It was featured in the Fall 2008 Quilt Sampler magazine.  I bought a small landscape kit of the red rocks of Sedona, a book on trapunto quilting by machine, and their Quilt Sampler quilt kit.  All in beautiful batiks – called Desert Sunset.

It took me almost as long as the trip to get something new on my blog.  Sorry……… I’ve been busy quilting a bunch of quilts for Camp Happy Days.  I’m off in the morning to WV for high school graduations.  When I return I’ll post about the second leg of our trip – VIVA LAS VEGAS!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay in Scotland
    May 28, 2010 @ 18:21:21

    Wow..you brought back so many memories for me of our trip to AZ in 2002..Sedona is so beautiful…and I love the Grand Canyon..need to come back and see more…thank you for sharing!

    Best Wishes Kay in Scotland

    http://borderlinequilter.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  2. jeanne
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 13:34:32

    Wow, What wonderful pictures. Hope you enjoyed yourselves,

    Reply

  3. Judy
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 20:26:50

    The pictures are breathtaking, Karen. I don’t think I’d seen any of the Painted Desert before. How incredibly beautiful.

    Reply

  4. frances Patrick
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 22:24:21

    I love your pictures. Many of them remind me of our trip out west. I love the ones of the Painted Desert and the Grand Canyon. I was there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

