A Fresh Outlook on Life!

I’ ve been in my studio now for three years and like all creative people, I tend to collect “stuff” and I tend to let things get piled up and messy.  I needed to declutter and get organized again.

Fall always seems to signal the start of new things for me – probably because for years and years my year started when school started.   Plus my birthday is in September.

Jolene came in for the long Labor Day weekend and as part of my birthday present she SLAVED away for a day and a half and we got the studio whipped into shape.  It looks awesome and is working much better.

The biggest project was one large closet – it now has new shelving units and all of my Works in Progress and future projects are now housed very neatly.  My large bolts of fabric were also able to find a home there.   The cutting and pressing areas are larger and and more easily accessible.  And there is a wonderful place to relax and read and get inspired.

There is still more to do – the library needs to be sorted and reshelved as does a file cabinet of patterns.  The project boxes need to be labeled so I can easily identify them.  But those are easy to do and don’t require the heavy lifting and pushing of furniture that I needed to accomplish the work this weekend.

And after all of the work on Friday evening and all day Saturday we still had two and a half days to sew.  Project pictures in the next posting.

Here is the newly revamped parts of the studio – storage, pressing, cutting, and reading.  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathi
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 15:27:33

    I just love a freshly cleaned sewing room. But I can’t decide if it makes me want to sew more or stay away for fear of messing up all that hard work!

    Reply

  2. Corky
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 18:01:20

    Looks great. You guys must have worked really hard.

    Reply

  3. Sheila Moore
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 20:36:27

    You guys did a great job with the Great Reorganization. Cleaning the sewing room always inspires me to get to sewing—-then the room is messed up again. A never ending cycle. Sheila

    Reply

  4. Judy
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 21:00:51

    Love the closet, Karen. Great work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

