A perfect ending and a wonderful beginning!

This year the best Christmas present I received was time……..an entire week with my dearest friend, Jolene.  I have many wonderful friends and I am blessed by all of them….but Jolene is like my doppelganger, my sister, another part of me.  Four years ago she moved from the area to western NC and there has been a hole in me since.  We manage to get together once a month but a weekend just never is enough.  This year she was able to keep enough vacation days to spend the Sunday after Christmas until today with me.  And it was wonderful!

We sewed our hearts out, shopped two of the days, ate anything and everything we wanted (that stopped today!!) and partied with our other good quilting buddies a couple of times.   Frances and Sheila came to sew on Tuesday.  Evelyn came on Thursday and stayed until Saturday night.  And all of the Sisters (see pic below) came out on Saturday to sew and then we all went to Sheila’s Saturday night for chili and vegetable soup and cornbread and biscuits and Hershey Bar pie and hot peach cobbler with ice cream.  Oh my!

I was not a good blogger and did not take a single picture of the activities, the purchases, or the projects.  I had quilted one of Jolene’s winter quilts for her and forgot to take a picture of that.  I do have two of mine quilted now and will try to take pics this week and post. 

I worked on my Vintage Valentine and started a king size Snap Shots (from Terry Atkinson’s Happy Hour book) for my middle sister.  Jolene made backs for some tops that were ready to go into the “to be quilted” closet and worked on blanket stitching some projects.  She made a great top from a Jan Patek pattern but I don’t know if it is here or went home with her.  If it’s here I’ll take a picture and post because it was very very pretty.  We also made our fourteen Picket Fence blocks for our Homestead and Hearth BOM from The Fat Quarter Quilt Shoppe.  And Jolene made the blocks for a lap size Snap Shots quilt.  We also put together two fleece throws for her granddaughter.

Here are the Sewing Sisters plus one (Evelyn) after a wonderful New Year’s Day supper at Sheila’s.

From left to right:  Virginia, Evelyn, Betsy, Jolene, Frances, KK, and Sheila.

Hope everyone had as wonderful a year end celebration as I did.  Have a happy happy happy New Year!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 17:14:22

    Great photo. Sounds like it was a wonderful week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

