A new and exciting venture

I really really love longarm quilting.  And I really really really love to teach – I’ve been a teacher all of my life – from age six when the summer after first grade I rounded up all the kids younger than me on my block and held summer school!  LOL

So I am very excited to tell you that I am stepping out into the field of longarm teaching.  I will be doing three classes at our Quilters of South Carolina fall retreat, Pieceable Retreat, at White Oak Conference Center in Winnsboro, SC.  You must be a member of QSC to attend so click here to go to the website and get a membership form and/or registration material for the retreat.

Jennifer Kay of The Quilting Solution will be providing Homesteader machines for the retreat.  I will be teaching a half day class on Friday afternoon,  a full day class on Saturday, and another half day class on Sunday morning.

The first class (half day on Friday) is Beyond the Basic Meander.  We will learn how to expand on meandering in a number of different ways to develop beautiful edge to edge (overall) quilting patterns.  Below is my class sample with nine different meander edge-to edge patterns.

Ribbon meander:

Loopy meander:

Leaf and vine meander:

Teardrops or paisley:

Threes and EEEEs:

Oak leaf and loops:

Ferns:

Curls:

Heart leaves or toothy feathers or baby bottom leaves (LOL):

Over the next week or so I’ll share the class samples with you from the other two classes.

We are also looking to host similar classes this summer in Aiken – more on that as it solidifies.  Plus I am available for private sessions – I’ll come to you or you come to me.  I’ve already booked one private session to assist a new longarmer in getting comfortable with her machine – setting it up, loading a quilt, getting the tension right, all of those things that are so daunting when you begin.

I am so grateful to have this new opportunity to help spread the joy of quilting.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 09:34:37

    You go girl!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Cathi
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 11:13:48

    If I weren’t already teaching at retreat . . . . . . but then if my class doesn’t make . . . . . Let us know about Aiken. I may have to sign up!

    Reply

  3. Corky
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 17:51:03

    If I ever get a long arm, I know who I’ll call first!

    Reply

  4. Mary Dusenberry
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 19:54:26

    Go girl! Proud of your reaching up and out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

