Scenes of Charleston

I just finished three quilts for the same customer.  Two were almost identical – same setting but different fabrics and different cross stitch blocks.  The maker had 20 of these blocks that her sister had commissioned.  There are two nieces so she made a quilt for each niece.  I love the way she added the two log cabin blocks at the bottom of the setting to balance the 10 blocks – it makes it look like a big banner.  The first quilt has magnolias and the second quilt has a big floral that looks like azaleas – both fitting to the Charleston theme.DSCN0357

DSCN0368This is a wallhanging of holly hocks – my customer remembered them from growing up – sadly hollyhocks do not do well here in South Carolina – I’ve tried to grow them myself as I have fond memories of them in my grandmother’s garden.  I had lots of fun with this one.

DSCN0371

DSCN0373

This picture is out of order and I’m not adept enough to move it.  I need to spend some time working with manipulating words and images within my blog but really – I’d rather be quilting.  DSCN0362

 

I’m off this afternoon to Hilton Head Island for the Quilters of SC Spring Meeting.  Carol Taylor is our guest speaker/teacher.  I got us a three bedroom condo for the week so the Sew’n Sisters are going to be sewing and quilting and shopping and having a great time.  Stay tuned for posts of the fun!

Image

Leave a Reply

