Dreaming of Wadmalaw Island

I don’t know what my customer Melissa W is planning to name her quilt but when we discussed it she told me it represented Wadmalaw Island and the tidal creeks and a sunrise – the pink area – and a sunset – the redder area – hence my name for it.  If you look closely you can see a stream of blue winding its way all around the quilt.  Since this is not traditional looking and the blocks just blend together we decided to go with a more modern quilting style and for it to be very organic.  I chalked off areas of water and of land and did swirls in the water section and large pebbles in the land section.  It really turned out nicely and gives the top a lot of texture and movement.  It was a bit hard at first for me to make large pebbles as I usually do teeny tiny pebbles as a background fill.  But I got in the groove and it became fun except when the purple variegated thread blended into the purple fabrics and I couldn’t tell where I had been!

This was Melissa’s first pieced quilt – lots of piecing – it was a large queen to king size – and it layed perfectly flat and square.  Kudos to her!!

quilt 1

quilt 2

quilt 4

quilt 3

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marj
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 23:28:51

    The quilt is beautiful and I love the quilting that you did on it. What a fun way to finish a great memory for your customer.

    Reply

  2. Melissa W
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 19:26:22

    The name of the quilt is Overnight on Wadmalaw. I love Karen’s quilting of pebbles and swirls to enhance the island theme of the quilt. This quilt is a gift for my daughter who asked simply for a purple quilt. Melissa W the customer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

