Wiawaka Whig Rose

A very long time ago….I think August of 2006 or 2007, my friend Janice and I traveled to Lake George in upstate NY to a quilting retreat hosted by Anita Shackelford at Wiawaka Holiday Retreat House.  This is a historic place built in the late 1800s to serve as a vacation place for girls who worked in the garment industry.  It was rustic and beautiful.  While there we worked on Whig Rose blocks.  All hand applique.  These are very big blocks – about 20″ each. I worked diligently on my first one and then slowed down a LOT on my second one.  I just finished it last Sunday.  I want to make four blocks – each one different – and then do some piecing – either sashing or setting blocks or both – to pull it all together into a large wallhanging.

I love the fabrics I used – very nontraditional and I fussy cut all the green so that the paisley motifs would show up in all of the leaves.

So tomorrow I’m going to prep and lay out Block Three and see if I can get it done in a couple of months instead of many years!!  If I just stitch for an hour every night that will be doable.  Less Words with Friends, more stitching!

Which block do you like the best?  I like them both but think the block on the right has a more pleasing design.  I like the stems coming from between the big leaves better than out from the big leaves – but Whig Roses can be done either way.  One set of stems in the left hand block needs to have more curve to them but I’m sure not unstitching all that tiny hand applique stitching.

Whig rose 2 blocks

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KK
    May 12, 2013 @ 20:11:52

    I can’t wait for my new camera to get here! The smartphone camera just doesn’t do as well. The colors of the roses are really much more vibrant – hot coral pinks.

    Reply

  2. Mary Dusenberry
    May 13, 2013 @ 07:46:18

    I like the one on the right! Good stitching!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

