Sweet Home Carolina

My dear friend and ultra talented quilter Judy Heyward designed the center part of this little quilt.  I took off from there and added the sea turtles, Carolina Wrens and Carolina Jessamine.  I will be adding a facing – first time for me but I didn’t want a binding on the outer edge.   I also plan to add some beads to the jessamine and give the wrens and turtles beads for eyes.  I really like how this turned out but I know the judge at the show will have some constructive criticism.  I’ve decided if I like it then that’s all that really counts.

I love the backing fabric with the palms trees.

Here is the final quilt that needs to get finished before the show.  It will be a shop sample for Sew n Sew’s booth at the show.  Love the little Scottie dogs – and how great that Sadie the Scottie won Best of Show at Westminster last night!!  Callie Cat is not so sure about this one!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corky
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 01:04:41

    Beautiful as always. I love your interpretation of Judy’s design.

    Reply

  2. Diana
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 05:48:11

    I really love your quilt and I think you did some really creative things with it. Also, the Scotty dog is wonderful, I collect Scotty stuff myself.

    Reply

  3. Sheila
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 09:46:36

    Wonderful quilt, I know it will be beautiful hanging in your home. Mine is on my PHD list, but it won’t be quite so spectacular, it is going to Jason for his office, so I better keep it kind of masculine, Sheila

    Reply

  4. Judy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 10:50:07

    I absolutely LOVE your quilt, Karen. It looks to me as if my pattern was just a starting point for you to jump off from and then you flew into new territory and made it very uniquely your own. Congratulations!

    Reply

  5. Alice Lynn
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 10:16:54

    Oh Wow! It’s better than wow! Very nice.

    Reply

  6. Joyce
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 22:37:26

    Beautiful Karen, Just absolutely Beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a comment